# 19.—Lieutenant-Governors of Saskatchewan, 1965-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-49, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949

Note.-See headnote to Table 13, p. 118.

# Lieutenant-Governors

Name		ate o	of sion	Name		Date of Commission		
GEORGE W. BROWN	Oct. Oct. Feb.	5, 6, 17.	1910 1915 1921	LtCol. H. E. Munroe, O.B.E A. P. McNab THOMAS MILLER. REGINALD J. M. PARKER J. M. UHRICH	Sept. Feb. June	10, 193 27, 19 22, 19	36 45 45	

<sup>1</sup> Second term.

## Legislatures, 1934-491

Date of		Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of		
Election			of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution		
June June June June	15, 194	8 8th General Assembly	6 5	Nov. 15, 1934	May 10, 1944 May 19, 1948		

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1934-49 were: 6th Ministry, sworn in July 19, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. J. G. Gardiner; 7th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 1, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. Patterson; 8th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1944, under the leadership of Hon. T. C. Douglas.

<sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not yet expired.

## Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 24, 1948: 31 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation; 19 Liberals, 1 Independent and 1 Liberal Progressive-Conservative.)

Note.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of Present Appointment		
Premier, President of Council and Minister of Public Health. Provincial Treasurer Attorney General. Minister of Natural Resources and Industrial Development. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation Provincial Secretary. Minister of Highways and Transportation. Minister of Education. Minister of Labour. Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Tele-phones and Telegraphs.	Hon. J. W. Corman  Hon. J. H. Brockelbank Hon. L. F. McIntosh Hon. J. H. Sturdy Hon. C. C. Williams Hon. J. T. Douglas Hon. W. S. Lloyd Hon. C. C. Williams Hon. L. F. McIntosh Hon. L. F. C. Nollet	July July Aug. Aug. Aug. July July July July July July Juny July Juny	10, 10, 4, 4, 4, 10, 10, 10,	1944 1944 1944 1948 1948 1948 1944 1944

## Subsection 9.—Alberta

There are ten members of the Executive Council of Alberta: the Premier and Provincial Treasurer; the Minister of Agriculture; the Minister of Economic Affairs; the Minister of Education; the Minister of Public Works who is also responsible for the Department of Railways and Telephones; the Minister of Mines and Minerals, and Lands and Forests; the Minister of Health and Public Welfare; the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Provincial Secretary; the Attorney General; and the Minister of Industries and Labour.

There are 57 members of the Legislative Assembly who are elected for a maximum period of five years.